August 5 – 14, 2011

Bayless High School / Directed by Gary Long / Music by Marc Shaiman / Lyrics by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman / Book by Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan / Based on the 1988 John Waters film

Hairspray delighted audiences by sweeping them away to 1960s Baltimore, where the '50s are out — and change is in the air. Loveable plus-size heroine Tracy Turnblad has a passion for dancing, and wins a spot on local TV dance program The Corny Collins Show. Overnight she finds herself transformed from outsider to teen celebrity. Can a larger-than-life adolescent manage to vanquish the program’s reigning princess, integrate the television show, and find true love (singing and dancing all the while, of course!) without mussing her hair?

Proceeds Benefited


Tracy Turnblad / Chelsea McCarkel
Corny Collins / Scott Degitz
Edna Turnblad / Zach Stefaniak
Penny Pingleton / Beth McClure
Velma Von Tussle / Stephanie Merritt
Amber Von Tussle / Lauren Kistner
Link Larkin / Evan Fornachon
Tammy / Melissa Guffey
Brad / Nathan Molina
Fender / Corey Fraine
Brenda / Megan Davis
Sketch / Mike Hodges
Shelly / Kasey McCormick
IQ / Drew Mizell
Lou Ann / Kendyl Serrano
Mr. Spritzer, Mr. Pinky / Kent Coffel
Prudy Pingleton / Jan Wheatley

Wilbur Turnblad / Dan Boyer
Seaweed J. Stubbs / Pershard Owens
Mototmouth Maybelle / Karen Fulks
Little Inez, Dynamite / Bianca Fitzpatrick
Dynamite / Nellie Mitchell
Dynamite / Troyaire Moore
Gilbert / Paul Pitts
Stooie / Ian Coulter-Buford
Duane / Jeremy Sims
Thad / John Reed

Anissa Williams
Christopher Strawhun
Kara Jackson
Sidney Mitchell


Stylish choreography....a splendid core of dancers...excellent cast...a joyous production of a show with a heartening message.
— Gerry Kowarsky, Two on the Aisle

2011 Arts for Life Best Performance Awards

Won – Best Large Ensemble Musical Production
Won – Best Direction (Gary Long)
Won – Best Choreography (Jenn Koehne)
Won – Best Costume Design (Colene Fornachon)
Won – Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Pershard Owens)
Won – LeeAnn Smith Cho Best Musical Performance Award (Karen Fulks)

Musical Direction (Nate Jackson)
Set Design (Bill Beilstein)
Lighting Design (Pat Klick)
Actor in a Leading Role (Zachary Stefaniak)
Actor in a Featured Role (Evan Fornachon)
Actor in a Supporting Role (Scott Degitz)
Actress in a Supporting Role (Beth McClure)
Actor in a Comedic Role (Kent Coffel)
Actress in a Comedic Role (Jan Wheatley)
Actress in a Cameo Role (Bianca Fitzpatrick)